VietFun For All   Quick Language Chooser:

Go Back   VietFun For All > Giải Trí > Nối Vòng Tay Lớn

AnhCung
Diamond Member
Số Điểm: 9979
Old 11-01-2016 , 01:19 AM     AnhCung est dconnect  search   Quote  
Too often I hear that "Why are you such a difficult person Chris?" or something along that same sentiment. And truth be told, I am. I am stubborn, self-proclaimed, semi-traditional old man. I believe in tough love, I kick before I praise, and I expect nothing but the best. As tough as I am on others, I am 10 folds tougher on myself. Something that was drilled into me by my pompous arrogant father...and I thank him every day for being that way with us. I constantly carry a chip on my shoulder because instead of weighing me down, I use it as a source of inspiration.

And perhaps because I picked that up from him, my parents entrusted the responsibilities of the eldest son onto me, although I am but the middle child with 3 elder siblings. I graduated when I was 16, and as I was about to embark on a new journey through my life; my dad sat me down and asked me to promise him that no matter what I will ensure that my 3 younger brothers will finish college. I accepted, and when the youngest of the family graduated I bought the restaurant my mom worked at for over 20 years as a gift to her and I bought my own house to now start my own life.

I felt a ton of responsibilities lifted off my shoulders. Our family was now in a much better place and all the kids could afford to let my parents retire and work less.

But the road of life is usually not that paved. Part of the reason that I had to inherit the duties of the eldest was because my two oldest siblings were getting lost in their life. One was a drug addict and the other a gambleholic. Both with lives spinning out of control and in the whirlwind were my niece and nephew. Both in their most fragile age of life entering college and finishing high school.